Your Premier Source for Comprehensive Philippines News and Insights! We bring you the latest news, stories, and updates on a wide range of topics, including politics, culture, economy, and more. Stay tuned to know everything you wish about your favorite stars 24/7.


  • Owner: SNOWLAND s.r.o.
  • Registration certificate 06691200
  • 16200, Na okraji 381/41, Veleslavín, 162 00 Praha 6
  • Czech Republic

Surigao del Sur jolted anew by strong quake

MANILA, Philippines — A magnitude 6.8 earthquake jolted Surigao del Sur after a destructive magnitude 7.4 temblor rocked the province Saturday night, according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs).

The magnitude 6.8 quake occurred at 3:49 a.m. yesterday with its epicenter located 67 kilometers north of Cagwait town and a depth of focus of one kilometer.

In a radio interview, Phivolcs director Teresito Bacolcol said that the magnitude 6.8 quake was different from the magnitude 7.4 one as the latter’s epicenter was in Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur.

“For the magnitude 6.8 this (yesterday) morning, we issued an advisory that there was no tsunami threat,” Bacolcol said.

Phivolcs said intensity 5 was felt in Cagwait, Surigao del Sur; intensity 4 in Tarragona, Davao Oriental and Tandag City, Surigao del Sur and intensity 3 in Iligan City, Cagayan de Oro City and Banaybanay, Lupon and Mati City, Davao Oriental.

Instrumental intensity 4 was recorded in Abuyog, Leyte; Hinunangan, Southern Leyte; Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental; Nabunturan, Davao de Oro; Surigao City, Surigao del Norte and Bislig City and Tandag City, Surigao del Sur.

Instrumental intensity 3 was recorded in Quinapondan, Eastern Samar; Dulag, Hilongos, Kananga and Mahaplag, Leyte; Sogod, Southern Leyte; Libona, Malaybalay City and San Fernando, Bukidnon; Magsaysay, Misamis Oriental; Cagayan de Oro City; Digos City, Davao del Sur; Davao City; Malungon, Sarangani; Columbio, Sultan Kudarat and Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte.

Instrumental intensity 2 was recorded in Argao and Danao City, Cebu; Can-avid, Eastern Samar; Alangalang, Albuera, Burauen, Carigara, Javier, Leyte and Palo, Leyte; Ormoc City; Catbalogan City, Samar; Malitbog and San Juan, Southern Leyte; Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte; Kadingilan and Maramag, Bukidnon; Initao, Misamis Oriental; Magsaysay and Matanao, Davao del Sur; Don Marcelino, Davao Occidental; Kidapawan City, Magpet and President Roxas, Cotabato; Alabel, Sarangani; Tampakan and Tupi, Southern Cotabato and General Santos City.

Instrumental intensity 1 was recorded in Talibon, Bohol; Asturias and Talisay City, Cebu; Naval, Biliran; Calubian, Isabel and