Your Premier Source for Comprehensive Philippines News and Insights! We bring you the latest news, stories, and updates on a wide range of topics, including politics, culture, economy, and more. Stay tuned to know everything you wish about your favorite stars 24/7.


  • Owner: SNOWLAND s.r.o.
  • Registration certificate 06691200
  • 16200, Na okraji 381/41, Veleslavín, 162 00 Praha 6
  • Czech Republic

Marcos names UP economics professor as finance undersecretary

MANILA, Philippines — President Marcos has appointed University of the Philippines Economics associate professor Renato Reside as undersecretary of the Department of Finance (DOF), the Presidential Communications Office announced yesterday.

Reside served as a consultant for various projects, including the fiscal incentives project for the DOF and the United States Agency for International Development, from December 2005 to May 2006.

His fields of research and consulting include taxation, macroeconomics, infrastructure and human capital development.

Marcos also named new officials to his office, namely Antonio Tabora Jr. as Presidential Assistant for Cordillera Administrative Region, Cynthia Vergara as Internal Audit Office assistant executive secretary and Alexander Flores as Office of the Deputy Executive Secretary for Support Services and Auxiliaries assistant secretary.

Also appointed were Marcelino Villafuerte II as Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration director III, Sabuddin Abdurahim as secretary for the Amirul Hajj for the 2024 Hajj to Saudi Arabia, Jesus Sale Jr. as workers representative to the Social Security Commission, Julio Balanag as member of the Sangguniang Panlungsod of Las Piñas, Penelope de Ausen as provincial agrarian reform officer II and Lou Zenith Europa as education director IV.

Gonzalo Bongolan, Liduvino Geron, Felix Manlangit, Adelfa Masacupan, Jennifer Tantan, Lucila Tesorero and Ma. Cielito Valdivia were also appointed as Land Bank Securities Inc. board members.

In addition, Lester Tan was appointed as health director IV, Ma. Teresa Iñigo as Philippine Institute of Traditional and Alternative Health Care director-general, Shielo Reyes as National Economic and Development Authority director IV, Rolando Martinez as Philippine Space Agency director IV, Elmer Jude Mesina as Philippine Information Agency deputy director-general and Elmer Decena as Land Transportation Office director II.