Your Premier Source for Comprehensive Philippines News and Insights! We bring you the latest news, stories, and updates on a wide range of topics, including politics, culture, economy, and more. Stay tuned to know everything you wish about your favorite stars 24/7.


  • Owner: SNOWLAND s.r.o.
  • Registration certificate 06691200
  • 16200, Na okraji 381/41, Veleslavín, 162 00 Praha 6
  • Czech Republic

Perpetual Help chessers retain NCAA crown

MANILA, Philippines — University of Perpetual Help completed seniors back to back titles, while Lyceum of the Philippine University (LPU) General Trias campus clinched the juniors crown at the end of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Season 99 chess championships last Nov. 30 inside the Letran campus in Intramuros.

The Las Piñas-based woodpushers, led by MVP and Board 1 medalist Genesis Borromeo, beat online chess champ San Beda U (NCAA Season 98), 3.0 -1.0, in the championship match.

Meanwhile, the Junior Pirates chess team outsmarted challenger UPH Junior Altas, 2.5-1.5 card in the final. National Master Angele Biete emerged as Board 2 medalist and MVP.

“I congratulate my teams both the seniors and juniors for doing their best for this, medyo kinapos last sa final yung juniors. We are looking forward for another crown next season, thanks to the support of the management and the Tamayo family specially Dr. Tony Tamayo and Boss Anton Tamayo,” said Perpetual Help coach Roel Abelgas.

Board 1 to 6 medalists were Borromeo UPH, Noel Geronimo of JRU, Joseph Rivera of JRU, Adrina de Luna of SBU, Romeo Canino of UPH and Ferdie Casabuena of LPU. FIDE Master Roel Abelgas was named Coach of the Year in the seniors division

In juniors division, Welsey Magbanua of UPH was named Rookie of the Year, Alexis Saballe of SSC-R Freshman of the Year, while board medalists were Cedric Abris of CSB, National Master Angle Biete of LPU, John Marcus Lomio of JRU, Wayne Ruiz of JRU, Ariel Santander of LPU and Wesley Magbanua of UPH. LPU coach Emerson Sayaman was named Coach of the Year.