Your Premier Source for Comprehensive Philippines News and Insights! We bring you the latest news, stories, and updates on a wide range of topics, including politics, culture, economy, and more. Stay tuned to know everything you wish about your favorite stars 24/7.


  • Owner: SNOWLAND s.r.o.
  • Registration certificate 06691200
  • 16200, Na okraji 381/41, Veleslavín, 162 00 Praha 6
  • Czech Republic

Rising tennis talents eye top finish in PPS Paulino tourney

MANILA, Philippines – The Mayor Rolen Paulino Jr. National Juniors Tennis Championships kick off in Olongapo City Thursday, drawing the nation’s top and rising young talents to compete for honors and valuable ranking points across nine age categories.

The Group 1 tournament, hosted by the Olongapo Tennis Club, marks a significant return of the country’s premier talent-search to the city after a seven-year hiatus through the efforts of Rolen Paulino Sr., the former Mayor and SBMA (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority) chairman, who now serves on the BCDA (Bases Conversion and Development Authority) board.

The host city, renowned for producing skilled players like PJ Tierro, Jurence Mendoza and Nico Riego de Dios, has high hopes from his tournament, presented by Dunlop, to uncover and nurture the next generation of national team contenders.

Mayor Rolen Paulino Jr. expressed pride in the city’s history of producing talented players who excel academically and athletically, citing alumni and alumnae from prestigious universities who have set a high standard for the city’s young athletes.

They include Zaza Paulino (National University), Tata Paulino, Roman Floreza and Trysha Vytiaco (UST), Mary Rivero, Axl Gonzaga and AJ Rivero (Ateneo), Julian and Justine Mendoza and Jerome and Jonas Silva (UP).

“They are the footsteps being followed by the young players of today,” he added.

The tournament is part of the nationwide circuit put up by Palawan Pawnshop president/CEO Bobby Castro. For details, contact event organizer Bobby Mangunay at 0915-4046464.

The local lineup features strong contenders in various categories, including Jan Cadee Dagoon, Shiloh Cruz and Ayl Gonzaga among the girls, and Darwin Cosca, Andrei Torrente, Kirk Gonzaga, Anthony Cosca and John David Vytiaco in the boys’ competitions.

Sanctioned by Philta, PPS-NTC and UTR and supported by Slazenger and Philta Regional Vice President Rolen Paulino Sr., the tournament also features competitions in 10-unisex, 14- and 18-and-U doubles, both in boys’ and girls’ divisions.

Meanwhile, Chloe Mercado and Althea Liwag banner the girls’ 18-and-U field, Sandra Bautista and Ave Maria Policarpio headline the 16- and 14-and-U